lawfully

  • 10:17:30 am on October 18, 2005 | 0

    My day usually starts with printing out hard level of Web-based Sudoku. Sometimes, I try expert, but I hate the feeling of being defeated. Is it a sort of doodling, as Paul Graham puts it?

    What these groups of co-founders do together is more complicated than just sitting down and trying to think of ideas. I suspect the most productive setup is a kind of together-alone-together sandwich. Together you talk about some hard problem, probably getting nowhere. Then, the next morning, one of you has an idea in the shower about how to solve it. He runs eagerly to to tell the others, and together they work out the kinks.
    What happens in that shower? It seems to me that ideas just pop into my head. But can we say more than that?
    Taking a shower is like a form of meditation. You’re alert, but there’s nothing to distract you. It’s in a situation like this, where your mind is free to roam, that it bumps into new ideas.
    What happens when your mind wanders? It may be like doodling. Most people have characteristic ways of doodling. This habit is unconscious, but not random. I found my doodles changed after I started studying painting. I started to make the kind of gestures I’d make if I were drawing from life. They were atoms of drawing, but arranged randomly. [2]

     

Leave a Reply

